Science, it definitely still works bitches.
  • You think a fridge works by using a heating element? Does this in any way strike you as odd?
  • You lot are rubbish geeks. I bet you don't even know how a fridge works.

Endothermic reactions n stuff, science hooorah!
  • You think a fridge works by using a heating element? Does this in any way strike you as odd?
    Isn't that the nature of an endothermic reaction?  You put heat in and get a negative return on your investment?

EDIT:  This is why I'm not a scientist or a heating engineer or...
  • What happens when you compress a gas? Therefore, what happens when a gas expands?

When my internet is working again I'm going to start a thread on this kind of stuff.
  • I just skim-read about how a fridge works and it made sense, sort of.
  • Good, because it's so simple I'm amazed you've not wondered about it before.

I actually know someone who thought the seasons were caused be the slight elliptical orbit of the Earth, despite the fact we were walking home in the snow and he was soon to be holidaying in Australia.
  • What are the seasons caused by then?
  • I'm not rising to that.
  • Tilt of the earth, innit.
  • I expect you'd be surprised how many people don't know.
  • I expect you're right. No wonder religion is rife. It can happen to the educated too. It took someone in my astronomy class about two full weeks to properly understand why there are two high tides a day.
  • Try explaining the synchronous rotation of the moon to my mum.

Mind you, she has to reteach me long-division every few years.
  • My Dad taught me long division and did electrical engineering at Uni. He doesn't believe in quantum physics. Actually called it "a bunch of shite". Parents eh?
  • He doesn't believe in quantum physics. Actually called it "a bunch of shite". Parents eh?
    Having started a degree in Physics, I'm with your dad.  It is a total pile of shite.