Comfort zone gaming
‹ Previous123
  • Alright, so this is borne out of a certain thread which shall not be named, where the discussion briefly touched on people having a pretty good idea of what they like to play, and knowing from the off whether to bother with it at all. I do this all the time personally.

I think I'm paraphrasing @skerret here but the sentiment goes something like this:
    I've been playing games for 20+ years so I can tell how something will play 99/100 times just by looking at a few videos/reviews
    So I'm guilty of this kind of thing: one recent example was The Last of Us. I knew exactly how it would play based on screenshots/previews/past games by the developer, and gave it a miss because the hype was quite frankly irritating from some quarters (mainly GAF). I eventually gave in and bought it, played it, and whilst none of it surprised me, it was still of an incredibly high quality and undeniably a fun game. 

We've probably all had similar experiences in terms of knowing what a game is like, but what about not knowing what a game is like and writing it off? Over the past 18 months Ive probably stayed mainly within the confines of Nintendo first party, and a lot of that is still in varied genres, but not so much in varied tones or narrative styles. I tend to value gameplay more than story to begin with, but perhaps I'm inadvertently missing a number of great games. Rather - I know I'm missing some great games, but I might be missing some games that could even have snuck into my "favourites of all time" list. e.g. something like Remember Me could have been a Beyond Good and Evil experience. Forza Horizon might have been a PGR2 experience. Some obscure indie game on mobile might have been a moment of pure genius like Pixeljunk Monsters. Maybe my intolerance of buggy games has led me to miss out on something worth persevering with.

So here's a challenge of sorts.